Friday, March 14, 2008

Billions Of Dollars Needed For Cleaner Air

Residents of Alaska, Hawaii, Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Vermont, Washington, and Wyoming, consider yourselves lucky. You have no counties failing to meet the Environmental Protection Agency's new health standard for smog, as provided by the EPA.

Interestingly, Chicago (Cook County) is absent from the list, although suburban Lake County to the north of Chicago is an offender.

Meanwhile, 345 counties fail -- almost half of all counties monitored.

No word yet on how we will fund the estimated $8.8 billion per year for the clean up.

No comments: